Team Announced World Junior Surfing Championships

Irish Surfing has announced a team of sixteen to represent Ireland at the ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from the 24thNovember to the 3rd December.
Irish Surfing’s Technical Coordinator, Gavin McCrea will lead the team supported by Coaches, Ayesha Garvey, Una Britton and Iarom Madden. 

The team includes 12 athletes competing in U18 and U16 Girls and Boys. Six young surfers from West Coast Surf Club (Clare) Katie Lodge, Odin Villarreal, James Cloney, Sadie Shalloo, Maria Butler and Conor Moroney will join three from Tbay Surf Club (Waterford) Akiya Moore, Evelyn Moore and Giorgi Herterich and three from Donegal Bay Board Riders (Sligo/ Donegal) Tom Murphy, Oscar Choo and Darragh Gilmartin.

There is a wealth of talented young surfers in the water in Ireland today, with the standard higher than ever before. Attendance at the World Junior Surfing Championships provides Ireland’s top junior surfers with the opportunity to compete against the world’s best up-and-coming surfing talent and presents a pathway to world class and Olympic surfing.


Gavin McCrea, Irish Surfing Technical Coordinator

Ayesha Garvey, Rossnowlagh Surf Club
Iarom Madden, Donegal Bay Board Riders
Una Britton, Rossnowlagh Surf Clu

U18 Girls
Akiya Moore, Tbay Surf Club
Katie Lodge, 
West Coast Surf Clu
Evelyn Moore, Tbay Surf Club

U18 Boys
Odin Villarreal Bahamonde, West Coast Surf Club
Tom Murphy, Donegal Bay Board Riders
James Cloney, West Coast Surf Club

U16 Girls
Sadie Shalloo, West Coast Surf Club
Maria Butler, West Coast Surf Club
Giorgi Herterich, Tbay Surf Club

U16 Boys
Oscar Choo, Donegal Bay Board Riders
Conor Moroney, West Coast Surf Club
Darragh Gilmartin, Donegal Bay Board Rider

© 2024 website design by dmac media