49th Anniversary of the Intercounties

The 49th Anniversary of the Intercounties (the first was in 1968) are on this weekend in Rossnowlagh with Bundoran as a back up venue depending on conditions. This competition is unique because of its format that allows beginners, grommets, oldies and competitive surfers all surf together in the one contest. There is always a fun atmosphere with great camaraderie among the competitors and spectators. All you need is 3 or 4 surfers 'from your county' and you have a team. Every surfer surfs in round 1 with the top 8 counties progressing to the quarter finals where county surfs against county. This year we have medals for first, second, the best Junior Team and the Wooden Spoon.

Its the oldest surfing contest in Ireland and one of the oldest in the world that as run annually since 1968. The county names on the cup range from Down in the first year to the great teams of Waterford and Antrim in the 70s, Donegal in the 80s, Waterford in the 90s and Sligo in the 00s. Legendary surfers like Davey Govan, Hughie O'Brien Moran, Willie Britton, The Tobin brothers, Jimmy Meehan, Gearoid McDaid have all claimed the cup but there are alot of legendary surfers surfing in Ireland who have yet to taste the sweet nectar of Intercounty success. Strong surfing counties like Clare, Cork and Kerry have never claimed the cup but could this be their year? Or could the Cavan, Laois or Offaly teams who have been regular competitors recently pull off a big upset.

Registration takes place online at https://www.irishsurfing.ie/event-calendar.html#!event/register/2017/10/20/rossnowlagh-intercounties and some entries will be available at Rossnowlagh car park from 9 - 10 am on Saturday morning. Entry fee is 40 euro per team with 3-4 surfers on a team. A call will be made on Thursday morning as to the start time and venue. There is live music on Saturday night and some more entertainment over the weekend in the Surfers Bar. Planning has already started for next years 50th Anniversary of the Intercounties. 

For more information contact John Britton at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..