is logo




Irish Junior Surf Team Announced

Irish Surfing has announced the Irish Junior Surf Team to compete at Eurosurf Junior ’16 (European Junior Surfing Championships), scheduled to take place in Agadir, Morocco from the 3rd to 11th December 2016. Eurosurf Junior is a biannual event hosted by the European Surfing Federation.
A team of 12 young surfers has been selection on a combination of performances at training camps and contest, including events in Sligo, Clare and Kerry. Team coaches include Sligo’s Jason Southcombe and Andrew Kilfeather. Jason is from Taranaki, one of New Zealand’s main surfing areas. He has been surfing for over twenty years and moved to Ireland over twelve years ago. Andrew will bring a wealth of competitive experience to the team, having competed since he was a junior at numerous European and World events including a podium finish at Eurosurf Junior in 2000. Top international judge, Donough Cronin has been selected to join a panel of judges from all over Europe to judge at the prestigious Championships.
Ten new caps have been selected. They will join two surfers, Jack Clohessy and Jack Scott who competed at Eurosurf Junior in 2014 held in the Azores where Ireland finished 5th overall. Many of the team will be focusing on their exams in the coming months after which they will have a full schedule of training and competition over six months in preparation for Eurosurf Junior.  Irish Surfing wants to congratulation the team selection and wishes them success in their preparation and performance at Eurosurf Junior ‘16.  
Irish Junior Surf Team 2016
U18 Boys Surf
Shane Lally, Tullaghan, Co. Leitrim (Bundoran Board Riders)
Sam Moore, Tramore, Co Waterford (TBay Surf Club)
U18 Girls Surf
Maia Monaghan, Fintona, Co Tyrone ( Rossnowlagh Surf Club)
Una Britton, Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal (Rossnowlagh Surf Club)
U18 Longboard
Shane Lally, Bundoran, Co Donegal (Bundoran Board Riders)
U18 Bodyboard
Jack Clohessy, Cork ( GTown Surf Club)
Jack Creagh, Clonakilty, Cork (GTown Surf Club)
U16 Surf 
Louis Devenney, Lifford, Co Donegal (Rossnowlagh Surf Club)
Jack Scott, Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal (Rossnowlagh Surf Club)
U16 Bodyboard
Neil Mc Carthy, Ballyshannon, Co Donegal (Rossnowlagh Surf Club)
Joe Breen, Tramore, Co Waterford (TBay Surf Club)
U14 Surf
Finn Richardson, Ardnahea, Co Clare (West Coast Surf Club)
Eoin Lally, Tullaghan, Co. Leitrim (Bundoran Board Riders)
Jason Southcombe, Ballisadare, Co Sligo (Co Sligo Surf Club)
Andrew Kilfeather, Strandhill, Co Sligo (Co Sligo Surf Club)
Donough Cronin, Lahinch, Co Clare (West Coast Surf Club)

Share This Page :)